Monday, July 1, 2019

Tim Mah's 25 Canadian Jazz Albums of 2019 (so far)

In honour of Canada's birthday, frequent Four on the Floor contributor and correspondent Tim Mah has offered this comprehensive list of 25 notable Canadian Jazz releases, so far released in the first half of 2019.  Tim is also the host of the radio program Jazz Today, heard Thursday mornings 530-7am on CJSW 90.9 fm (Calgary).

Tim Mah's Canadian Jazz Albums -
Twenty Five New Releases of 2019:
(in no particular order...)

1) Seamus Blake “Guardians of the Heart Machine”

Seamus Blake (tenor saxophone), Tony Tixier (piano), Florent Nisse (bass) and Gautier Garrigue (drums).

2) Gentiane MG Trio “Wonderland”

Gentiane Michaud-Gagnon (piano), Levi Dover (bass) and Louis-Vincent Hamel (drums).

3) Anna Webber “Clockwise”

Anna Webber – tenor saxophone, flute, bass flute, alto flute

Jeremy Viner – tenor saxophone, clarinet

Jacob Garchik – trombone

Christopher Hoffman – cello

Matt Mitchell – piano

Chris Tordini – bass

Ches Smith – drums, vibraphone, timpani

Listen to Anna Webber talk about her album with Dave Douglas on the podcast called “A Noise From The Deep".

4) Steph Richards “Take the Neon Lights”

Steph Richards (trumpet, flugelhorn, compositions), James Carney (piano), Sam Minaie (bass) and Andrew Munsey (drums)

This is a video of Steph Richards and her band performing at the Festival of New Trumpet Music in San Diego (March 2019):

5) Mike Allen “Just Like Magic”

Mike Allen (tenor saxophone), Peter Washington (bass) and Lewis Nash (drums).

This is the EPK for the album:

6) Brad Turner Quartet with special guest Seamus Blake “Jump Up”

Brad Turner (trumpet & flugelhorn), Seamus Blake (tenor saxophone), Bruno Hubert (piano), Andre Lachance (bass) and Dylan van der Schyff (drums)

This is “The Enthusiast” from the album:

7) Donna Grantis “Diamonds & Dynamite”

Donna Grantis (guitar), Bryan Nichols (piano), Cody McKinney (bass), JT Bates (drums), and Suphala (tabla)

Donna Grantis performing “Mr. Majestic”:

8) Michael Davidson & Dan Fortin “Clock Radio”

Michael Davidson (vibraphone, compositions) and Dan Fortin (bass)

This is a video includes the song “Berlin V” from the album:

9) Curtis Nowosad “self-titled”

Curtis Nowosad - drums

Duane Eubanks - trumpet

Braxton Cook - alto saxophone

Andrew Renfroe - guitar

Jonathan Thomas - piano, Fender Rhodes (tracks 1,5,6), organ (track 8)

Luke Sellick - bass

Corey Wallace - trombone (tracks 3,5,7,8)

Matthew Whitaker - organ (tracks 2,3,5)

Michael Mayo - vocals (tracks 2,6)

Brianna Thomas - vocals (tracks 3,8)

Marc Cary - Fender Rhodes (tracks 2,8), Wurlitzer (track 8), synth (tracks 1,6,8)

This is a video of Curtis Nowosad’s “The Water Protectors”:

10) Dave Robbins Sextet “Joan of Art”

Dave Robbins (drums), Steve Holy (bass), Chris Gestrin (piano), Brad Turner (trumpet), Mike Allen (tenor saxophone) and Rod Murray (trombone)

This is the EPK for the album:

11) Mike Allen Quartet “Celebrating Sonny Greenwich”

Mike Allen (tenor sax), Miles Black (guitar), Steve Holy (bass) and Dave Robbins (drums)


12) Steve Haines & the Third Floor Orchestra “self-titled”

Steve Haines (bass), Becca Stevens (voice), Chad Eby (soprano saxophone), Joey Calderazzo (piano), Kobie Watkins (drums), plus orchestra.

This is a video of the Steve Haines composition “What I’ve Seen”:

13) Brad Turner “Pacific”

Brad Turner (trumpet/flugelhorn), John Gross (saxophones), Chris Gestrin (Hammond B3 organ and Moog Synthesizer Bass) and  Joe Poole (drums)

This is the title track, “Pacific”:

14) Jacques Kuba Seguin “Migrations”

Jacques Kuba Séguin: trumpet

Yannick Rieu: tenor saxophone

Olivier Salazar: vibraphone

Jean-Michel Pilc: piano

Adrian Vedady: bass

Kevin Warren: drums

This is “Hymne” from the album:

15) JV’s Boogaloo Squad “Going to Market”

Joel Visentin (keys), Adam Beer Colacino (guitar) and Jeff Halischuk (drums)

This song is called “Squadzilla”:

16) Jim Brenan 11 “50/50”

Jim Brenan: leader, composer, arranger, tenor, soprano sax, clarinet, bass clarinet

Jim Murray: trumpet

Sergio Rodriguez: trumpet

Sean Craig: alto sax

Mike Gardner: alto sax

Sarah Matheson-Nadeau: baritone sax, flute

Craig Brenan: trombone

Carsten Rubeling: trombone

Chris Andrew: Fender Rhodes, clavinet

Rubim de Toledo: bass

Jamie Cooper: drums

Raul Tabera: percussion (track 1)


17) Stephanie Urquhart Quartet “Concealment”

Stephanie Urquhart (piano), Peter Zawalski (guitar), Josh McHan (bass), Joel Jeschke (drums) and Mallory Chipman (vocals - tracks 1, 7, 8, 9)

Here’s the EPK for the album:

18) Dominique Fils-Aime “Stay Tuned!”

Vocals: Dominique Fils-Aimé

Bass: Jacques Roy

Drums: Salin Cheewapansri

Percussions: Elli Miller Maboungou

Keys: Nathan Vanheuverzwijn

Guitar: Étienne Miousse

Piano: Jean-Michel Frédéric

Trumpet: Hichem Khalfa

Didgeridoo: Kevin Annocque

This is a video of “Big Man Do Cry” from the album:

19) Jazzlab Orchestra “Quintessence”

Musicians : Samuel Blais, Mario Allard, Alex Francoeur (saxophone), Jacques Kuba Seguin (trumpet), Thomas Morelli (trombone), Félix Stussi (piano), Alain Bédard (bass) and Louis -Vincent Hamel (drums)

This is a video of the title track, “Quintessence”:

20) Rafael Zaldivar “Consecration”

Rafael Zaldivar (piano), Rémi-Jean LeBlanc (electric bass), David Gagné (upright bass), Mireille Boily (vocals), Amado Dedeu Jr. (percussion, vocals), Eugenio Osorio (congas) and Michel Medrano (drums).


21)  Laura Anglade “I’ve Got Just About Everything”

Laura Anglade (voice), Jonathan Chapman (bass), Sam Kirmayer (guitar), Valerie Lacombe (drums), and Masashi Usui (tenor saxophone).

This is a video of Laura Anglade performing “A Social Call”:

22) Jim Doxas “Homebound”

Jim Doxas (drums), Lex French (trumpet), Al McLean (saxophone) and Adrian Veddady (bass)

This is the title track:

23) Tara Kannangara “It’s Not Mine Anymore”

Performed by Tara Kannangara, Chris Pruden, Colin Story, Julian Anderson-Bowes, Mackenzie Longpre, Evan Cartwright and Kira May.

This is a video of “Touched” from the album:

24) Dave Young “Lotus Blossom”

Dave Young: acoustic bass

Renee Rosnes: piano

Reg Schwager: guitar

Terry Clarke: drums

Bernie Senensky: piano

Kevin Turcotte: trumpet

Perry White: tenor saxophone

This is Dave Young (featuring Renee Rosnes) performing the title track:

25) John Stetch "Black Sea Suite (Live)"

John Stetch – Piano
Steve Kortyka – Sax
Philippe Lemm – Drums
Ben Tiberio – Bass

No comments:

Post a Comment